Beautiful?

 

Beautiful?

By Robert C Price

 

You’re too beautiful

I know it’s the most

idiotic statement

ever uttered but it’s

true

 

Some will think me

insane for even

contemplating such

a thought

 

It’s something about

your eyes, the hazel

with green flecks that

turn most into blathering

dolts

 

Behind those eyes

fill me with apprehension

A flicker of malevolence

that goes unnoticed by

the blind

 

You are everything a

perfect woman should

be in theory and that’s

what troubles me the

most

 

It’s God-like

not mortal

Flawless

no imperfections

A breathing Michelangelo

 

You’re real and not

simultaneously

The embodiment of

an unattainable goal

which mocks me

 

I wish I could

dismiss this feeling

but your beauty I

do not trust for

something is missing

 

Could it be the very

thing that makes

us real

 

A soul perhaps?

