Writing Process Blog Hop

I was invited to participate in a tagging Blog Hop by the one and only Vashti Quiroz-Vega, the author ofThe Basement and blogger  of Vashti Quiroz-Vega’s Blog. With her blog, you get a mixture of great short stories, amusing articles, interesting interviews and updates about her work. Honestly, I go there to read her stories. She just finished a four-part short story called The Train Ride From Hell which was excellent. Definitely make time to visit her blog. You won’t be disappointed.

Ok, there are some rules to this:

1/ I must answer the four questions below.

2/ I must link back to the person who invited me to this Blog Hop.

3/ I must name four writers who will continue this Blog Hop and notify them.

Questions:

1) What are you working on?

As much poetry as I write, you would think that I’m working on a poetry book, but that would be farthest from the truth. I’m working on several short stories ranging from flash  to long in preparation of a crime fiction anthology. And of course a steady stream of poetry. I can’t stop that.

2) How does your work differ from others in the genre?

A great question which I’m not sure I can answer. Well, I’ll say with my poetry that I’m truthful in my emotions. My style is from my heart. I don’t know if it differs from others out there but I rely  on that. My crime fiction I want more of a poetic feel to it but not too much that you don’t feel the rawness of the story or characters.

3) Why do you write what you write?

I read everything when I was a kid, but most importantly comic books. Yes, I wear my geek badge proudly. I pretty much read anything that interest me, but when I got older I started reading Vertigo books which were far from the norm of anything out there. Especially their flagship book 100 Bullets. That’s crime fiction at  it’s best. Movies influenced me like The Godfather Trilogy and Heat and my all time favorite author, Walter Mosley.

4) How does your writing process work?

Like Vashti, I’m a bonafide pantser. I have the idea in my head and sometimes I have the ending all mapped out, but then I start writing and the story goes in another direction. I will research, save websites and print material like crazy. Also I use Evernote to write out the beginning of a story or rough draft of my poems. When it comes to my poems, I rely heavily on music. I’ll  hear a melody that gets me inspired  and I have to write something to it or related to a verse in the song. Poetry really helps me in writing my short stories. It expands my thinking and not look at the story so linear .

Look for the Blog Hop to continue next week at these sites:

This Blog Intentionally Blank

Bill Jones Jr is an awesome author of five books and many short stories. He’s also a poet and an accomplished photographer. Check out  his blog, books and photos. You’ll love it.

Love and Pain Collide

Debra Alamond is a talented poet who can take you from sweet to sensual. I love reading her work and I know you will too.

Wording Well

Lorraine Reguly does it all. She’s a freelance writer, poet, editor and all around nice person that is honest in everything she does. Check out her blog and be thoroughly amazed.

Sometimes, Samantha Writes

The talented Samantha writes beautiful poetry and spin stories about her office that will have you on the floor. She also share recipes and photos from her many travels. Check her out and enjoy the adventure.

