Faith

This is a poem I dedicated to my daughter, Faith. She’s too young to understand it now, but she’ll appreciate it when she’s older. If I tried to read it to her now, the first thing she’ll say is “Daddy it doesn’t rhyme,” and then, “What kind of poem is this?” followed by, “You tried Daddy.”

 

Faith

By Robert C Price

 

I look at you and see hope

Braids and long legs

With Hello Kitty as

Your best friend

 

Energy boundless

Charging your Twinkle Toes

Until they blink like Christmas

Lights

Against the sun-baked

Macadam

 

Ballet pirouettes

Leaping through the air

And Angelina Ballerina

Bowing to your greatness

 

My love for you is infinite

Beyond universes yet to

Be discovered

 

Somehow I feel small

Compared to your love

For me

 

A love unconditional

And so great that

I feel unworthy to

Even receive it

 

You were the missing

Piece from my heart

That laid cold and

Distant

 

I can’t imagine not seeing

Your smile

As you glide across the

Floor

 

And hug me with no

Questions asked

Melting the troubles of

A blue day

Granting me solace

 

You’re happy just to be

Happy

Oh how I miss those

Young carefree days

 

Your presence brings

Back memories

When it was ok to

Laugh and not care

 

When the time comes

That I no longer slay the

Dragons

No longer fight the demons

 

I pray that I have taught

You well

Given you the keys to

Happiness

 

And made you strong enough

To call on your Daddy

When need be

 

 

